10 Articles to Inspire and Encourage

How many blogs and e-newsletters do you subscribe to? This one only? (I’m flattered….) Carefully chosen favorites? Or, more than you can read?

If you’re anything like me, you may tend to say “yes” to every sign-up option–and then feel frustrated and guilty because “reading all these takes too much time!” So if that’s you, click the links below with extreme caution; most of them are closely associated with sign-up buttons and/or masses of “can’t read just one” articles.

Still, helpful ideas come from all sources, including some not-specifically-Christian ones. So your mission, should you have reading time to accept it, is to listen for God’s voice in the words of these articles.

1. 9 Ways to Feel Less Stress When Life Gets Crazy Busy by Marc Chernoff
My favorite sentence: “Let yourself be immersed in [the present] task by letting go of the feeling that you need to quickly rush through it–that you need to move on to the next task waiting for you.”

2. What to Do When Your Rooster Crows by Sharon Jaynes
My favorite sentence: “[The devil] tries to drown out the song of grace with the caw of shame.”

3. Nomophobia by Trey Little
My favorite sentence: “We often forget to ‘take up’ contemplation, reflection and repentance as we avoid the chocolate we have chosen to ‘give up.'”

4. How Anxiety and Guilt Affect Your To-Do List by Traci Pedersen
My favorite sentence: “Know that you are doing something of value, and don’t waste one bit of energy wishing you were doing something else.”

5. Using the “Dark Patches” Deliberately by David Pendergrass
My favorite sentence: “If you’re one of those persons who ‘has no regrets’ in life, then I don’t trust you at all.”

6. How to Stop Worrying and Get on with Your Life by Dr. Noam Shpancer
My favorite sentence: “One would think that a system (worry) that constantly fails at its job (predicting the future) would be abandoned.”

7. Fishing in the Waters of Our Past by Mary Southerland
My favorite sentence: “God’s way [of forgiveness] almost seems too easy, doesn’t it?”

8. Simplify Your Life. Today. by Cathy Stucker
My favorite sentence: “Why does simplification have to be so complicated?”

9. A Short Prayer for Freelance Writers by Carol Tice
My favorite sentence: “Just for today, let me be compassionate with myself.”

10. What Do You Do While You Wait on the Lord? by Rick Warren
My favorite sentence: “Hurry is the death of prayer.”

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Jerrie

     /  March 20, 2015

    Good stuff to share with my friends.

    Reply
  2. janetanncollins

     /  March 20, 2015

    These are great! Thanks for sharing them.

    Reply
  3. Jo Swank

     /  March 20, 2015

    Good stuff, Kathy! I love the way you pulled out one pearl of wisdom from each article. : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

